Reviews for Star's Crossed Lovers

BY : GeorgeGlass


  • From Fairy-Slayer on April 16, 2017

    Chapter 13 (You came too soon…)

    Well that was a fantastic way to turn things around – even literally once or twice. Jackie Lynn Thomas has always been easygoing but, even though she'd pretty much demanded that Star and Marco make love, to watch them really enjoy it without feeling any twinges of jealous herself is the ultimate.

    The enthusiastic opening to the "Everything worked out for the best so let's all do it already!" sex scene was delicious as usual, with a quick yet satisfying build-up to the big moment, and jumping to the end was great not only for keeping things running along but also because that description of how sweaty, heaving, spent, etc. they were gave my imagination license to fill in the gaps as well as Marco and Oskar had been doing.

    Star and Marco's fist bump was a great touch to signify that they're still close friends while also being a nice callback to when they came up with their ingenious plan. The later hint that Jackie had some inkling that it was something like that showed that she's certainly no dummy, but to the point where if it turned out great for her then it doesn't really matter.

    Clearing the air when they were alone again was a nice touch. I don't know if it was completely necessary because I'd already felt that the Darkstar and Blood Moon stuff had been resolved, but making sure it was settled without needing to over-do it was not a bad idea at all since there was some pretty hard and hot action when that was being worked out.

    Man, I actually felt a twinge of regret that Rogelio had to go and we got to spend so little time with him. (But hey, that beer isn't going to sell itself…?) Perhaps I was projecting a bit of Marco, but in the end I think they bonded pretty well with Marco sharing his problems and his grandfather giving him just the right kind of and (and, as I noted an instant before seeing him explain it) quite memorable advice.

    Ending with their optimism and one last bit of wingman affection did the trick. Awesome story, and it flowed so well and was so enjoyable that I was surprised to see that it comes out to sixty-five (printed) pages.

    You are most welcome for the proofreading. I only wish I hadn't needed to recuse myself once or twice. But more importantly thank you for this hard work and riveting result.



    Report Review


  • From all_possible_worlds on April 14, 2017

    Chapter 13 (and final) review

    *Massive spoilers ahead*

    Whoa, you got me! I honestly thought this was going to be a starco fic played straight in the end when I read Chapter 12. It frankly could have been, but the fact that it isn't makes me like the whole thing even more. Marco and Star's chemistry reads first as cute and second as hot, but that kinda would work for them even if they did end up as the couple. On the other hand, I am so so glad that this didn't end up with Jackie and Oskar together-by-default or left by the wayside.

    I think is also a pretty cool point to make that Marco and Star can be soulmates, and the person each other truly loves the most, without that love being romantic love, let alone the person each other are most attracted to, sexually. There is some attraction too, I would think, but I get your point of it being much *less* than their attraction to their respective crushes. I also do like that the "*just* friends" debacle and the conversation with Rogelio was (truly great) foreshadowing.

    Now, all that said, and as your fan and holding you to an extremely high standard: I didn't like the sex scene in the final chapter as much as I liked the one in chapter 12. Don't get me wrong, I love the idea: Marco x Star have cute loving besties sex, while Marco x Jackie and Star x Oskar have steamy hot I-need-this-now sex. But I feel, given that idea, that the actual scene rushes through the sex scene, then jump-cuts to the fist-bump (which is awesome btw, I already read the post so I know how important that scene was). It is by no means a bad sex scene, but what I am saying is that it is not the best sex scene in this fic, at least to me. Reading this, I can be convinced on an intellectual level that Marco finds Jackie hotter than Star and Star gets it on so much more with Oskar, but I wished I had felt that, viscerally. I did not. Although, of course, that is very subjective.

    That said, again, I am actively looking for reasons to nitpick at this point, and holding you to the highest possible standard. Everything else has me well and truly impressed: what the conclusion to the story is, how perfect you get the characters (still not tired of hearing that one?) and each of the "epilogue" conversations: Jackie figuring things out regarding the whole wingman project, Star thanking Marco about the Blood Moon ball once she realized what had truly been at stake (which, of course, she would do in cannon if she knew, but see p.s.), Grampa Rogelio showing up again and explaining why his metaphors work better than the standard, and finally, of course, this heart-melting dialog:

    “Yup,” Star agreed. “‘Cause tomorrow's gonna be another awesome day!”

    “And so's the day after that,” Marco said with a smile.

    “And the day after that, and the day after that!” Star replied brightly.

    So, overall, I love this fic and will probably re-read from the start again soon enough. As for the arguable 'moral of the story', I myself feel that love is sometimes slightly overrated and friendship is way way underrated, so I approve.

    p.s. My take on Blood Moon Ball is that the Blood Moon *chooses* two souls, and Tom is delusional if he thinks there was any chance it would chose him and Star, even if Marco hadn't gone. More likely, the Blood Moon *knew* Marco would be there, or it is fated, or whatever. But that is not my opinion on your work but on Daron Nefcy's.



    Report Review


  • From Fairy-Slayer on April 12, 2017

    Chapter 12 - SPOILERS ABOUND!

    First off, I don't think anyone could do a better job of portraying Marco as such a honorable young man. Seriously, how many teenage boys would hesitate when their sexy girlfriend demands that they have intense, steamy sex with another pretty, sexy girl whom he happens to like a lot already? And while said girlfriend watches? Even after said pretty girl says she's fine with it too? Even hoping that after getting started that his girlfriend would call it off? Okay, I'll admit that's pretty in-character for Marco, so the really impressive part was how Jackie's reasoning felt very natural for the situation and matched well with her lively yet easygoing personality.

    Meanwhile Star's shocked silence then demand for clarification was a great set-up for how quickly she agreed once she knew that Jackie and Oskar were serious. Then, just when I thought it couldn't get any better, it turns out that her seemingly-casual take on it was really a statement about how strongly she believed that their friendship would thrive forever no matter what. (And I agree that the nod to the word screwing was a cute touch too.)

    Their lovemaking started wonderfully enough, even while expressing their awkwardness perfectly. It was cute how they started to make fun of the situation a little until Jackie told them to get serious (another point for my first paragraph); still, I was glad that even after making good use of Jackie's and Oskar's observations about getting Marco and Star revved up that they again decided to do it their own way. Apparently Jackie and Oskar enjoyed the fact that they did, too.

    The sexy action was fun and hot while also being the kind of caring thing that true soul mates would enjoy. The descriptions of their bodies were delicious too, and Star playing along with the Marquito thing without skipping a beat was cute. Actually all of the dialogue throughout added to the whole event without getting in the way once.

    I'm just glad that they came to such a screaming finish because Jackie's final words sound a bit ominous, and I really could feel Marco's dread once the afterglow faded. No matter what, it's going to be interesting to see what happens from here. Thanks.

    BTW the chapter title didn't have me the least bit worried that Princess Ponyhead would be joining in the action. Nope, not one bit… ;)



    Report Review


  • From all_possible_worlds on April 11, 2017

    Ok, you know you have made an impression when my first thought upon seeing this fic at the top of the Cartoon section was literally "Yeeassh! Finally!!" Just letting you know that. Now, I actually wrote this first paragraph of the review before reading the chapter. Going in right now, the hype is real, I'll be back in, well, no time for you, since I'll post this review after reading...

    *Chapter 12 spoilers (duh!)*

    That was... awesome! It was cute to epic proportions, without failing to be also extremely hot.

    You know how your gift is getting the characters exactly right? Well, you outdid yourself this time. I mean, I like that Oskar is not only not the jealous type but completely fucking unflappable (which you did establish well in multiple previous chapters). I also think Jackie is pretty well done, like, she is cool, but she is also vulnerable and human and likes Marco a lot. And, ok, Star and Marco starting awkward and nervously was nice to see and pretty entertaining. Also, I think the quote “I suppose our screwing could screw things up. Wait—is that why that one word means both things?” is the most Star thing I can imagine. That's all good. Your standard level of good. It lives up to the hype. But it is not what I am talking about here. I am talking, of course, of the moment they decide to stop trying to be serious and be their goofy selves except well, doing it. Their chemistry is off the fucking charts! And this is *exactly* what Star and Marco would be like if they ever had sex. It cannot possibly be topped. I mean, I am not saying I am going to stop writing Starco porn now, but holy shit, this is perfect!

    Also, if this is truly the final chapter like you said and we never get more explanation from Jackie than “You love each other,” I am afraid I might have to hate you forever. Just saying.

    I wish I had useful constructive comments for you, and I might give that a try on a second read, assuming there even are things that can be improved... but right now I am fanboying too hard. The only typo I noticed on my first read was that this part is missing a closing quotation mark: But you and Star have been best buds almost since you met.



    Report Review


  • From all_possible_worlds on March 18, 2017

    As promissed...

    Chapter 11 review:

    Ok, I love this one and didn't miss the lack of sex in this chapter one bit. Well, to be fair that's in part because I know it is coming next chapter, but still. Great chapter.

    And... whoa, well, that's a cliffhanger...

    *massive spoilers ahead, obviously*

    So, the love potion only reveals feelings that are already there. Which means Jackie (with Oskar as a conspirator) is probing to see if Marco and Star have feelings for each other. The question is what will Jackie and Oskar do when they realize they indeed do. Because, as much as I like Starco, I don't believe even the whole "destined to be together" thing automatically dooms their relationships with other people, specially not in the short term, and I mean, they are teenagers, short term is sort of the default assumption. Also, I get that the fact that love potions can't make you do something you don't desire to do makes them less, well, date-rapey. But aren't there ethical implications to forcing someone to *act* on desires they might have? Isn't it a bit like truth serum that additionally (soft?) compels you to act on your emotions, even when it would be inconvenient to do so based on what you think is right to do? Not that Star and Marco couldn't refuse, since they are at least being told to drink it rather than have it slipped into their drinks... and well ... You know what? I think you are onto something when my reaction to your pornographic fanfic (and I mean it in the best possible sense) is to ponder the broad philosophical implications of your chosen plot device. Kudos!

    Of course, orthogonal to that whole discussion, I am very much looking forwards to see what happens. Both with Star and Marco, and with their relationships to the other two!

    Also, I already ship Janna x Ruby. And I usually revile OC pairings in this kind of fic, but with Tom being a dick this pairing makes perfect sense for Janna and it can't be a truly epic fic without the best non-main character in the series getting their happy ending! (heh). Wonder if we will see more of *that* relationship...

    And, speaking about Tom being a dick, I second the notion that it is good that he is at least a self-aware dick of the "This is the cliche villain thing to do, but... well, here I go!" kind ;)

    I could repeat that the characters are spot on, but even you must tire of hearing that. Please continue! I need to know what happens now.



    Report Review


  • From Fairy-Slayer on March 14, 2017

    Chapter 10

    To start, it was fun to imagine Darkstar beating up the skin demons, even if she had a much more violent approach and actually enjoyed it a bit too much. Then again, I'm a big fan of "nice people" cutting loose once in a while to show that they can be hardcore. (Superman: Doomsday was the perfect example, IMO. :))

    I'm glad Boner was competent for once and notified Tom when the elevator had been called. Too bad the surprise attack didn't work out so well; and I had a lot of hope for Janna when she suddenly turned on Tom, but it makes perfect sense that she wouldn't be able to use the wand well at first no matter how much she'd studied. (It would have been a bit like finding an alien spaceship and just knowing how to fly it somehow.) Calling in the liberated Princesses was a great touch and made for a perfectly wild scene.

    Finally, the key to Star's freedom was brilliant, and the way she discovered it had some nice feeling to it too. Nothing like a little self-discovery and growth to move the plot along. That it happens to be perfectly in-character for her is the cream cheese icing on this wonderful carrot cake of a story. Then it was a nice to end on a "good news" cliffhanger, even if there was still a lot of stuff to deal with.


    Chapter 11

    There was some terrific action, all described beautifully yet succinct enough that reading it didn't take longer than the movements themselves. Jackie's break to get the wand back to Star was great. Throwing in some exposition was great too, especially the bit about Tom's self-awareness. The swordfight was terrifically exciting and flowed perfectly. Ending with Star's reaffirmation of her lesson was a sweet little touch, though I also loved that Ruby got her revenge by lopping off Tom's other testi… er, horn.

    Giving Boner a better name was very sweet of Star too. (I love that skeleton. :) )

    The subtlety with which Jackie's aloofness came into the picture worked nicely with the timeline. Not too sudden and not overplayed, and it was nice that Marco was his sensitive self enough to at least detect a hint of it when Jackie and Oskar left his house. When Jackie called Marco and Star to come over I knew that it was bittersweet o'clock. Marco's initial confusion about why she got out the pink-heart potion made perfect sense yet made for a nice little bombshell to end on. Some people would say that it's possible to be soul mates even without romantic attraction, but even then it would get in the way of any romantic relationships anyway. My only hope is that Jackie isn't basing her decision entirely on what Tom told them about the Blood Moon.

     

    It's a great sign of your superior storytelling that throughout these chapters I didn't miss the erotic stuff one lick. :) Thanks again for more doses of pure awesomeness.

    #melius tarde, quam nunquam



    Report Review


  • From all_possible_worlds on March 10, 2017

    This is the story that got me into writting on this site. The situations are hot (and cute at the same time), and the characters are extremely on point as of SvtFoE season 1, which is when this story seems to take place. I have been wanting to do a chapter by chapter review of the whole thing for a while, but I realized I will never find the time to do that, so asside from the above, I will comment mainly on Chapter 10 and then perhaps write or edit this review for future chapters.

    So... yeah, Chapter 10 *spoilers*:

    I shouldn't have liked this Chapter that much compared to the rest. No sex ensues, there is a rapid fire of cut scenes, and the Tom plot always rubbed me the wrong way (mostly because while Tom and Janna character's are perfectly plausible for season 1, both Tom as an evil-mastermind villain and Janna jelous of Star don't quite fit with their season 2 development).

    And yet, I enjoyed it a lot, mostly because the characters dialog and reactions are perfectly on point when they need to be. Star sounds like Star, Marco sounds like Marco, Ponyhead is unmistakeably I-hear-her-freaking-voice-in-my-head Ponyhead. And you manage to do it with literal hordes of characters, when I know how hard is to get 2 or 3 characters interacting properly in character in a single scene.

    The callbacks to St. Olga, to Janna having read the book of spells (even though Narwhal Blast is not in there ;) ), and the scisors were super clever, and the way in which they fool Tom with the elevator could pass for part of the plot of an actual episode.

    Now what I am really looking forward is to seeing what happens with the "destined to be together" bombshell that just got dropped on the four kids. Also, extra-evil-Tom is going to get his ass so Narwhaled, and not in a good way.



    Report Review


  • From GrayNeko on March 06, 2017

    Just wanted to toss out a review for the finished product and thank you again for giving me a chance to beta for you. I like that you gave more description to the skin demons, it was the one thing I realized I forgot to mention while I was working after I sent you my notes. I'm glad to see the Blood Moon brought up and the characters made somewhat aware of its importance, should lead to some great tension in future chapters. You did really well increasing the drama of Star and Darkstar's struggle at the end, it felt way more compelling.



    Report Review


  • From Fairy-Slayer on February 11, 2017

    Chapter 9 had some pretty powerful and critical story advancement, to say the least.

    SPOILERS!

    Easing into it with everything seeming fine (or better than fine) then switching to Star's nice dream… then discovering her minor mistake were subtle enough not to raise the alarm. Only when Star's agitated thoughts leaked out and then she caught herself was it clear the ooze was starting to affect her. The bit about the sheen the next morning was a nice bit of symbolism too as it represent encasing and trapping the real start. (Or maybe I'm just reading way too much into it.) Her insensitivity and hostility the next morning hit pretty hard.

    BTW, I'm really surprised you didn't get my reference about her dissing the nachos, but perhaps I wasn't grasping the context of the story as well as I thought.

    As for the emergence of the shadow personality, I found it very creepy and disturbing on a few levels. The bit about her image in the mirror flashing that mocking smile once Star realized what was happening – what had just become complete – was brilliant. The thought of being locked-in is pretty horrifying on its own, but I could feel (even relate) to her suffering as "she" started hurting those she loved, coolly and even dismissively. The cut-aways to her screams packed more punch than I think you even realize, especially as each verbal or emotional blow Darkstar landed on Marco made real Star weaker, less… (That's why I had to make such a terribly lame joke in the commentary to keep myself from being too affected, but I didn't want to be so cruel as to inflict it upon you. You don't deserve that.)

    Thank goodness for Rogelio – or as I like to call him, The Absolute Mostest Bestest OC EVER! His keen observations skills, no doubt fueled by his affection for his grandson and the cheerful princess, plus is eccentric similes make him awesome. His advice really got Marco to think – and more importantly, to act without hesitation.

    Aggressive Marco was fantastic, especially in his conviction as he confronted Darkstar a bit violently. However the switching to spankings was pretty funny, especially with real Star cheering him on. (Darkstar's comment was weird for such a bad girl, but perhaps she really prefers to give the spankings.) The fact that Tom didn't mind revealing his scheme and even gloating was a bad sign.

    (As a side note, the fact that Marco could recognize Star's scent and, maybe to a lesser degree, his chosen method of attack, "intrigues" me a bit too. :))

    However, even with all that conflict, pain, and even fighting, you still managed to add just the right bits of show-style humor, even in some dire moments, all seamlessly. That made it really feel like the show and much more enjoyable. Heck, Oskar's unintentional bad-ass comment was a total win.

    Thanks for such gripping chapter.



    Report Review


  • From InfiniteKuinshi on February 06, 2017

    I love everything about this story :)



    Report Review


  • From Fairy-Slayer on January 21, 2017

    Chapter 8 had all kinds of great action. :)

    I'm so glad the "emergency" turned out to be a good thing, and definitely a good reason to interrupt Marco and Jackie. Even better is how the interruption and explanation gave Jackie an opening to move things along for them as well. Safe Kids is Smart Kid.

    The lovemaking was wonderful, both in the action and in the beautiful descriptive imagery throughout. It was very sensual and also pretty hot. Jackie's bashful comment about doing it a lot more was cute, and Marco's response about the blueflower incense was a perfect little compliment.

    Of course, Star and Oskar having raving screaming crazy monkeysex one booth over was pretty funny too.

    Marco and Star's banter when the ambush was revealed was funny, and I loved the PC talk among the villains before attacking. Great description yet good pacing on the fight scene, plus good comebacks as always. Also, it was nice to see Marco a bit more easygoing and even appreciating some friendly ribbing here, like they've been working his character towards on the show.

    The villains may be inept (or just seem inept) but, yikes, they got the job done and Star is none the wiser. It will be interesting to see how it takes hold on her and what side-issues that will bring about; combined with Tom's other machinations it all has me quite intrigued. Thanks for another terrific chapter.



    Report Review


  • From Fairy-Slayer on October 02, 2016

    Tom certainly is full of himself these days. I'm hoping that his smugness and the way he put down Janna comes back to haunt him. At least Boner's surprise for him was a step in the right direction. The soultini was a perfect netherworld reference, especially with the modified Bond-esque option.

    The way the spa passes appeared was intriguing and very fun, in the show's style. Star may actually have a point about those squirrels… Star and Marco's back & forth about the potential for a trap was cute. Marco's ambivalence about Jackie wanting to go ahead anyway was cute, considering that he probably wishes she'd have a bit of Safe Kid in her too (not just Marquito ;) ) but was happy she wasn't holding bad feelings about the previous attack. Then when she was willing to true the blueflower incense with him, despite the mixed experience with the glowberries, that was a very hopeful sign.

    The spa sounded like such a nice time that now I want to go, and the detail about their massages was so good that even I was starting to feel quite relaxed too. Janna was great, but I didn't internalize too much of Marco's technique, which is good because for a moment I was afraid he was going to confuse his fantasy with Star's and start biting. ;) Seriously though, it sounds like he did very well, plus it was cute that Jackie was comfortable topless while he worked. Nice imagery as Marco's confidence got an Obi-wan Kenobi boost from that image of Star saying nice things, making him go for it. Jackie's reaction to his ass-grab was quite delicious, but of course he's got a strong sense of duty for his friends, so awesome cliffhanger it is.

    Knowing how well Marco and Jackie were doing together now I'm really curious to see how things between Star and Oskar went. Hopefully the emergency isn't anything too terrible – unless that's the fun. Thanks for another great chapter.



    Report Review


  • From Fairy-Slayer on August 22, 2016

    Chapter six is awesome. First off, the opener was a great resolution to the cliffhanger that led into some nice exposition: Oskar's fangs make sense now, plus Marco's teasing about it later was cute; I also like the bit about Star's excitability and Oskar's unflappability evening things out. Next, no surprise athletic and strong Jackie has a hardcore father. Nice of Marco to suggest the Nachos, and I especially like the quiet reverence Star used when backing up his claim about them.

    It's refreshing to see Tom being a bit more self-aware as he works really hard on his new plan to win back Star. The amount of effort and discipline comes through, especially keeping himself from fuming and instead directing his efforts into something much more useful: Janna. I love how you touched on her thought process while sticking to the effective narrative tone of the story. (It's not safe to get too close to the crazy, perhaps. ;)) It's great timing – well, a great lucky accident – on Tom's part to make contact with Janna just after she discovered "the plan" and the pieces had fallen into place in her mind. (But what is it with Tom and public bathrooms?) He was very suave and smooth in the in-(full)-person meeting, not even needing to do a full brainwashing but just a light rinse to take advantage of all of her bubbling feelings and wants. She rationalized away any down-sides to his requests quite nicely, plus we know she's used to being a bit odd and a troublemaker, so any missteps are easily covered.

    Oh, but I must respond: "What more did she have to do to show him that she was interested?" Answer: Finally graduate from third grade. :)

    However, I loved her romantic imagery of Marco as her boyfriend, though Tom then made the excellent next step with his comment about him being between her thighs anytime she wanted. The guy really knows how to make a sale. I'm pretty sure I know what "the gift" for Star will be, but now I'm really looking forward to how he's going to implement his own plan and how he's going to make Jackie Lynn look bad in Marco's eyes. Is that even possible? Scarily enough, if Tom says so then I kind of have to believe it's true…

    Anyway, excellent work. I hope this story stays high on your lengthy to-do list. Thanks.



    Report Review


  • From RandomReviewer on August 20, 2016

    The plot thickens... 0o0



    Report Review


  • From Fairy-Slayer on July 24, 2016

    (Disclaimer: I'm the beta reader.)

    SPOILERS!

    Chapter 5 was quite a great sneaky-sneak attack, most of all for being so fun while the conflicts rolled in and then abated with the kind of fun ease we associate with the show. I love the "cultural misunderstanding," both in practice of how it would be creepy to only give the drops to their dates and also Oskar's understanding; more importantly, no way Marco would have been able to wait one second longer than needed to get the spiking issue aired out with Jackie.

    However it also made for a wonderful conflict at first, and really sad how Marco stormed off (or well…) and Star's mixture of guilt & anger fueling her until she had that important realization about her parents. Well played, Mr. Glass.

    When Tom appeared I thought he'd have been responsible or at least aware of how the evening had went, but seeing his plan (and rather crude but sexy way of testing) was a lot of fun. Also, since Boner's first appearance I can't help but smile every time he's in a scene, and not just because of his name either. Nice escalation of what a dick Tom is when Ruby explains why she doesn't care for him anymore.

    I like how Mrs. Diaz "caught" Star and Marco together, and so much better that she agreed with her husband when he observed the exact same superior Mewnian logic that Star had come up with the first night they stayed together. Also, I had a proud moment when Marco caught himself while explaining to Jackie that he and Star are [i]best[/i] friends. The next smooth writing move was mentioning Janna's tone that Star can never quite interpret as the crushing girl confronted Star about her lie.

    Finally, once we were all set up to enjoy a nice party and see what other shenanigans could happen there, whether by Janna or Tom [b]BAM![/b] you remind us that, oh yeah, there are monsters who want the wand and are willing to hurt humans to get it. Perfect cliffhanger. Thanks.



    Report Review