Reviews for Trial by Fire

BY : Jade_Max


  • From rexnytefyre on July 12, 2018

    Been waiting for this chapter for a while. I absolutely love these two. I like it rough so it's a nice turn on.



    Report Review


  • From captainrexbest35 on April 07, 2013

    Chapter 10: can't wait for more :P I love your work. amazing it is.

    Report Review


  • From Snootiegirl on March 24, 2013

    You've probably figured out by now that I'm a big fan of your writing. :)

    And I am enjoying this story, although the character motivations--ok, just Blaze's--are baffling me. Is he just a sadistic jerk, or is there more behind his machinations? Like Slick?

    The other characters are very well done too. Interesting and consuming. And the innuendo!! Goodness sakes, girl. You're wicked with that stuff. LOL

    Looking forward to more installments (although Journey of Revolution is my top update choice).

    Report Review


  • From captainrexbest35 on January 07, 2013

    me likey -drools-

    Report Review


  • From laloga on October 23, 2012

    WHOO HOO! It's back! [high fives George]

    Love this story so much! I was delighted to see that the boys had been running through your brain again. :)

    This was a wonderful chapter for several reasons. First, I love how it showcases the relationships between our main characters and other, peripheral characters: Trax and Ret, Trax and Coric, Blaze and Rex, Blaze and well...the rest of his squad. Ret is such a great OC - gruff and no-nonsense, but he can appreciate a hard worker like Trax. He seems "older" than the others, mostly due to his mannerisms, I guess. :P I half expect him to yell at Coric to get off his lawn or something. ;)

    Coric...sigh. You've captured him so well. He's probably Trax's only true *friend* right now - Fives and Echo are still newbies to the 501st - but already Trax is distancing himself from his friend. Loved how Coric's concern came across, but his growing exasperation, too, especially towards the end of the chapter. Coric's words about Trax's "looks not being the only casualty of Teth" were harsh, but needed. The truth is, Trax is not the same man as he was before that mission; Teth broke him, and he has yet to rebuild himself. As much as Coric recognizes this, I think he also knows that Trax won't take well to any coddling; he appreciates "straight shooters," (um...probably all kinds of puns in there! :P), so that's how the medic speaks to the scarred clone.


    "We get shot at no matter where we go, Blaze; I'd rather get it over with then wait for it." I'll say it here and (try to) get it out of my system: ZOMG YOU WRITE REX SO WELL!!!! [swoon] Love him. :D Love love love him. [megaswoon] Sigh. [hearts]

    Ahem. [smooths out shirt, takes deep breath]

    Moving on:

    *Loved* the mission with Blaze, Rex, Ahsoka and the rest of the flame troopers. It was just the right mixture of tension, excitement, banter and further insight into the bundle of evil-smexiness (or is it smexy-evilness?) that is Blaze. He's so devious, so clever. I enjoyed seeing him interact with Rex, because as much of a jerk as we know Blaze can be, he won't last long if he talks back to his captain, so it was good to see him act so professional, here. It was also great to see him with his other "bros," (or, the frat boys of the GAR! :P), again giving us a sense that all of his machinations are - in part - a way to one-up his squadmates and their individual, sexual conquests.

    His thoughts on using Trax's fear of the dark were...wow. Chilling, to say the least. He's so calculating; it's clear from seeing his POV that Trax has no clue what he's gotten himself into with Blaze, but damn it all...all I want to do is be along for this ride.

    You and George have taken my OC and run off with him, wildly, into the night, and I just. Kriffing. Love it. :D

    Report Review


  • From WithPlot on June 04, 2012

    This is really well written, and I always enjoy fics that highlight just how different genetically identical men can be. I'll be waiting for the updates!

    Report Review


  • From captainrexbest35 on June 04, 2012

    Chapter 2-3: I can not stop reading these two chapters that and 3-4

    Report Review


  • From captainrexbest35 on June 04, 2012

    Chapter 6: okay i went to work with dad saturday and i slept most of sunday after i got my hair done. when i wwake up this morning i'm like OMG YESTERDAY WAS SUNDAY. TRIAL OF FIRE HAS BEEN UPDATED. and so ii started reading it and guess what... my computer crashed. that sucked so here i am finally reviewing.

    Report Review


  • From NakedClones on June 03, 2012

    Ack. I wrote a lovely review and AFN locked up when I tried to post it. Hopefully it will not do the same when I try to post it this second time. (sigh)

    OK, as I said in the review that I just wrote that never got posted, what I really liked about this chapter was the fact that you have created such a richly detailed story around the story of Traxis and Blaze. There is so much more going on than just their relationship, and the heated moments between the two of them. You have created this intensely vivid world aboard the Resolute that just feels so real. From the moments in the dining area, to the training rooms, to all the great details in the inventory room with Traxis. I was just loving the details where you described all the differences between the guns, the types used by Commandos versus Marines, etc. It just makes the Resolute come alive in a way it never has before, because you take the time to describe it in such intricate detail.

    Plus, you describe all of the other characters, and the goings on between them, as they try to get through all of these trainings. It just has such a REAL feel to it and it makes the story so intriguing.

    Blaze is starting to feel intensely dark. Or, should I say darker. And, no pun intended. That little stunt with the light switch? I thought for a moment there he was going to rape Trax. There was an underpinning of violence in his actions there, which always seems to be. Just when you think he might be a decent guy, when he asked if Trax was recovered, and showed some concern for his well-being, he goes and pulls a stunt like that. Then, that gleam that he got when he noticed Trax showed a weakness with a fear of the dark, well, you just know that no good is going to come of this relationship. If Trax doesn't wise up where Blaze is concerned, well, you know he is going to end up getting burned by this relationship. And, I just about cringed when he mentioned Fives and Echo by named to Blaze, because I was thinking that might end up badly, too. Just don't trust these flamethrowing guys. They all seem so... dark. The type that will thrive after Order 66.

    So much tension. Such an excellently crafted story. I always looked forward to Sundays now, just for an updated to this well-written tale. OK, AFN please post this and stop locking up...

    Report Review


  • From laloga on June 03, 2012

    The opening sequence with Echo and Fives was so well done! Love their interplay with one another, how Echo was kind of the "adult" between the pair while Fives kept badgering Traxis. XD

    Okay, I've said it before, but I'm *loving* all the double-talk and innuendo that you've included here! So many weapons...so many puns! :D "That injector isn't getting any smaller, soldier."

    Loved the intensity of Trax and Blaze's coupling; the contrast between Trax's fear with the darkness and his utter arousal with Blaze's actions was stunning. Also love how Blaze doesn't seem to *mind* Trax's fear, but rather seems to feed off of it, if only for a moment. His "man up" line is priceless.

    This line: "A little darkness is enough for death, Blaze." Traxis snapped back tightly. "I saw enough of it on Teth; I'll see too much of it before it takes me for good." Gets me every time. Utterly fantastic writing, and such a powerful sentiment as well!

    Poor Trax. It's so evident that he wants *more* from Blaze than he's getting. Yes, the sex is fantastic, but it's his longing to be close with the other man that really makes him special...and makes his situation all the more sad. Blaze is a user and an abuser, and Trax - for all of his toughness - isn't equipped to handle him on a real level.

    I find it interesting that Blaze "allowed" Trax a small victory at the end, as if he's choosing his battles while further obscuring his true motives for spending his time with Trax.

    Fantastic chapter! I *cannot* wait for more! :D



    Report Review


  • From captainrexbest35 on May 28, 2012

    chapter 5: love it. coric was a bit privy but yup

    Report Review


  • From captainrexbest35 on May 28, 2012

    chapter 4: loved it except for interuptions when i was reading.

    Report Review


  • From captainrexbest35 on May 28, 2012

    Chapter 3: beautiful and sexy as always.

    Report Review


  • From captainrexbest35 on May 28, 2012

    chapter 2 was something else hat was a bit mean of him to single him out like that.

    Report Review


  • From captainrexbest35 on May 28, 2012

    love it... the way you have them flirting with Traxis and do thank laloga for me it is nice to see him again

    Report Review